Home Govt. Agencies Abuja municipal area council. Some interesting facts

Abuja municipal area council. Some interesting facts

by Dan Hunter
abuja municipal area council

Abuja is the capital of Nigeria. It is currently the 8th most populous cities in the country. The well planned city was built in the 1980s.

On 12th of December 1991, Abuja replaced Lagos (the most populous city in the country) as the capital of Nigeria.

The geography of Abuja is defined by Aso Rock. Aso Rock is a 1,300-ft monolith, a remain of water erosion. Buildings like the The Presidential Complex, Supreme Court, National Assembly, and a large part of the city are on the South of this rock.

Abuja also houses Zuma Rock. This rock is a 2,598-ft monolith. It sits to the northern part of the city, just on the expressway leading to Kaduna.

The population of Abuja city (after the 2006 census) was 776,298 – it is among the top ten cities with the most population, at number eight.

A study conducted by the United Nations (UN) concluded that the city of Abuja had grew from 2000 to 2010 by about 139.7%. This makes Abuja city the fastest growing city across the world.

Now let’s dive into who runs this city. The city of Abuja is run by the Abuja Municipal Area Council(AMAC).

Keep reading to learn more about the AbujaMunicipal and its council.

Abuja municipal area council website

Among the key Local Government Area in Abuja is the Abuja Municipal town. As a town within the Federal Capital Territory of Nigeria are Kuje, Bwari, Kwali, Abaji, and Gwagwalada.

Also known as the Abuja Municipal Area Council, the town is located in the Easternregion of the Federal Capital Territory.

The Abuja Municipal Area Council is also close to the Suleja road along the North. The Municipal Area leads to the Keffi-Nyanya road, in the East. A travelercould drive through the Gwagwalada-Lokoja road, in the Western region.

Would you like to get new updatesabout the Abuja Municipal Area Council? You can always check the Council’s official website atAbuja Municipal Area Council News.

Towns in abuja municipal area council

There are several towns within the Abuja Municipal Area Council.

Listed below are thetowns:

  • Deidei
  • Nyanya
  • Jiwa
  • Lugbe
  • ApoTafyi
  • Aviation village
  • Gausa
  • Giri
  • Kurudu
  • Gude
  • Karshi
  • Kugbo
  • Jikoyi
  • Karu
  • Wawa
  • Kuruduma
  • Odu
  • Apo
  • Orozo
  • Kpaduma
  • Kugbo
  • Kyami
  • Gurku
  • Kpegyi

Also in the Abuja Municipal Area Council are twelve wards. The wards include:

  • Wuse
  • Nyanya
  • Orozo
  • Karshi
  • Kabusa
  • Jiwa
  • Karu
  • Gwarinpa
  • Gui
  • Garki
  • Gwagwa
  • City Center

Each if these wards are represented by a Councilor.

It is also important to note that the headquarters of the Abuja Municipal Area Council is located at Garki.

Abuja municipal area council address

The Abuja Municipal Area Council is located at Suite 334, Second Floor Rock of Ages Mall, 247 Mofemi Crescent, by Obafemi Awolowo Way, Utako, FTC Abuja.

Names of fct area council chairman

The Federal Capital Territory, Abuja has 6 Area Councils.

Adamu Danze is the Chairman of the Gwagwalada Area Council.

The current Chairman of the Abuja Municipal Area Council is Abdullahi Adamu.

Map of fct abuja showing the six area council

Here is the map of Abuja showing its 6 area council.

map of fct abuja showing the six area council

Areas in abuja

There are six different Area Councils in the Federal Capital Territory. These Area Councils include Kuje, Bwari, AbujaMunicipal, Kwali, Abaji, and Gwagwalada. In total, theCouncils cover land area of about 7,295 km².

Abuja also has 5 Suburban districts – Karu, Jukwoyi, Nyanya, Kubwa, and Gwagwalada.

There are clusters of satellite settlements along the Umaru Musa Yar’AduaExpressWay (formerly Airport Road). These settlements include Chika, Pyakassa, Lugbe, and Kuchigworo.

Abuja population

abuja city

A recentpopulation estimation of Abuja in 2020 revealed that the city keeps growing. The population is 3,277,740.

Here, people are well educated and civilized. Among the major professionals in Abuja City are Doctors, Legalpractitioners, Engineers, Bankers, Teachers, Government officials, Educationist, and CivilEngineers. It accommodates people from diversifiedcultures, tribes, races. Also, the Area Council attracts foreign investors who invest in mineral resources.

Mineral resources such as clay, mica, iron, and marble. The should here is so rich.

It has also attracts several companies who established their workplaces, in other to bring more useful services and products.


  • Dan Hunter

    Daniel is a Digital Marketer and a Copywriter. He is a member of the Association of Business Executives (UK). On most days, he enjoys writing, soccer, and spending time with Nature.

    View all posts

You may also like

Leave a Comment